Mark Steber


Mark A. Steber

SVP and Chief Tax Officer

Jackson Hewitt Tax Service (

As Chief Tax Officer with Jackson Hewitt Tax Service, Mark Steber is responsible for several key initiatives to support overall tax service delivery and quality assurance.  Mr. Steber also serves as a Jackson Hewitt liaison with the Internal Revenue Service, States and other government authorities.

With almost 30 years of tax experience and deep knowledge of the federal and state tax codes, Mr. Steber is widely referenced as an expert on consumer income tax issues and especially electronic tax and data protection issues.  He is a frequent guest on television and radio programs around the country and frequently participates in public speaking events to help taxpayers better understand the laws that impact them.

Currently a member of the IRS Electronic Tax Administration Advisory Committee or ETAAC– advising IRS and Congress on ways to improve tax administration for 2016. Mr. Steber has been an active participant in the IRS Security Summit Initiative from the founding of the effort in early 2015 and involved directly and indirectly with all of the working groups including the Information Sharing Group, Authentication Working Group and Strategic Threat Assessment and Response group and subsequent new groups including the Tax Pro Subgroup. He is also the ETAAC subcommittee chairman on Information and Strategic Threats. Also very active with various industry groups including ACTR and CERCA and have worked directly with leadership members in both groups.


A CPA registered in Alabama and Georgia, Mr. Steber was member of the IRS Electronic Tax Administration Advisory Committee (2010-2012) and ETAAC Chairman (2012), currently member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA), Alabama Society of CPAs (ASCPA), Georgia Society of CPAs (GSCPA) and various other professional organizations. Prior to joining Jackson Hewitt, he was a former tax partner with Ernst & Young LLP, with twenty years of experience at the firm including National Director of Indirect Taxes.